Criss Cross Jazz 1259 CD

Orrin Evans

Easy Now

Available: February 15, 2005

Orrin Evans' sixth date as a leader for Criss Cross reunites the award winning pianist and composer with his mentor and longtime colleague, master saxophonist Ralph Bowen.

The quartet session introduces five exciting new original compositions and reexamines three Evans' songs from his first two releases for the label.

Tenor saxophonist J.D. Allen is added to the group on Evans' stirring of Horace Silvers' Song for my Father.

In the rhythm section bassist Mike Boone or Eric Revis, and drummer Rodney Green or Byron Landham.

Orrin Evans
Barcode 8 712474 1259 20
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

Orrin Evans (P)
Ralph Bowen (As / Ss)
J.D. Allen (Ts) [9]
Mike Boone (B) [1-4,6,8-10]
Eric Revis (B) [5,7]
Rodney Green (D) [1-3,5]
Byron Landham (D) [4,6-10]

1. Captain Black (Orrin Evans)  5:49
2. BM (Tomonao Hara)  5:21
3. For De (Ralph Bowen)  6:06
4. Don't Fall Off The L.E.J. (Orrin Evans)  8:11
5. Easy Now (Orrin Evans / Todd Evans)  5:22
6. Bonus Round (John Ellis)  4:21
7. Dance On The Moon (Tomonao Hara)  9:29
8. Dorm Life (Orrin Evans)  2:12
9. Song For My Father (Horace Silver)  7:24
10. Don't Fall Off The L.E.J. (cont.) (Orrin Evans)  1:11

Total Time: 55:33
Recorded April 27, 2004 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Max Bolleman
Producer: Gerry Teekens & K. Hasselpflug (executive)