Criss Cross Jazz 1278 CD

Wycliffe Gordon

Cone's Coup

Available: May 15, 2006

Wycliffe Gordon's sixth effort for Criss Cross features the trombonist with the biggest sound around in a program comprised predominantly of original blues.

Gordon demonstrates his mastery of that most versatile African American art form, playing slow, fast, sad, reverent and raucous variations, accompanied by his regular working trio with Jazz Messengers alumnus Johnny O'Neal at the piano and the New Orleans rhythm team of bassist Reginald Veal, and drummer Herlin Riley.

Joining the quartet, making his Criss Cross debut, is Muskegon Heights, Michigan tenor saxophonist Stacy Dillard, whose deep dark soulful tone perfectly complements the similarly endowed leader.

Wycliffe Gordon
Barcode 8 712474 127825
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Shhh!!! (The Band Is Trying To Play) (Wycliffe Gordon)  5:47
2. Yaht Doo Daht Ditt (Wycliffe Gordon)  4:12
3. Sweet Spot (Wycliffe Gordon)  6:06
4. Blues For Alice's Freight Train (Charlie Parker / Tommy Flanagan)  5:34
5. Speak Low (Ogden Nash / Kurt Weill)  5:37
6. The Breaks (Wycliffe Gordon)  3:39
7. Blooz Hymn (Wycliffe Gordon)  4:30
8. Just Friends (John Klenner / Sam M. Lewis)  7:09
9. Stars Fell On Alabama (Frank Perkins / Mitchell Parish)  4:49
10. Mister P.C. (John Coltrane)  6:47
11. Cruise Blues (Martin Wind)  5:37
12. Hush Yo' Mouf!! (Wycliffe Gordon)  3:54

Total Time: 63:50
Recorded May 30, 2005 in Brooklyn, NY, USA by Max Bolleman