Criss Cross Jazz 1311 CD

Alex Sipiagin


Available: February 5, 2009

On his seventh Criss Cross album Russian trumpeter Alex Sipiagin offers a program of four originals, a tune apiece by Joe Henderson and Wayne Shorter from their 60s Blue Note period, and a songbook chestnut, approaching each one with virtuoso chops and fresh ideas, in the process reaffirming his position as a major voice in his instrument's timeline.

Joining him are pianist Mulgrew Miller, Sipiagin's bandmate in the Dave Holland Sextet; tenor saxophonist Seamus Blake, a musical colleague since the mid-90's, when both started working with the Mingus Big Band; bassist Boris Kozlov, with whom Sipiagin emigrated to New York from Russia in 1991; and state-of-the-art New York drummer Johnathan Blake.

Alex Sipiagin
Barcode 8 712474 131129
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. One For Mike I (Alex Sipiagin)  8:54
2. Mirages (Alex Sipiagin)  10:39
3. Live Score (Alex Sipiagin)  9:57
4. Levitin's Kingdom (Alex Sipiagin)  7:10
5. Just One Of Those Things (Cole Porter)  10:23
6. Tetragon (Joe Henderson)  8:06
7. Iris (Wayne Shorter)  6:00
8. One For Mike II (Alex Sipiagin)  9:15

Total Time: 70:55
Recorded June 17, 2008 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Michael Marciano & Max Bolleman (mixing) & The Masters (mastering) & The Masters (mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens