Criss Cross Jazz 1363 CD

Philip Dizack

Single Soul

Available: September 20, 2013

For his Criss Cross debut, 28-year-old trumpeter Philip Dizack presents a suite of seven originals, an a cappella reading of Duke Ellington's I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good, and a trumpet bass duo of Lionel Loueke's Benny's Tune, that displays his exceptional maturity as a composer and facilitator of memorable improvisations.

Providing the latter are multi-woodwindist-composer Ben Wendel on tenor saxophone, pianist Eden Ladin, and the kinetic bass-drum tandem of Joe Sanders and Eric Harland. Dizack himself enhances his ascendant reputation as a master of his instrument, displaying enviable range and consistent melodic invention, projecting deep emotion, and always telling a story.

Philip Dizack
Barcode 8 712474 136322
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Single Soul (Intro) (Philip Dizack)  0:59
2. Jacob And The Angel (Eden Ladin)  8:12
3. Benny's Tune (Lionel Loueke)  2:47
4. Take Me With You (Philip Dizack)  7:18
5. Single Soul (Philip Dizack)  5:19
6. Twins Of A Gazelle (Philip Dizack)  7:55
7. Book Of Stones (Philip Dizack)  4:35
8. Joy And Sorrow (Joe Sanders)  5:00
9. It's Not Just In Some Of Us (Philip Dizack)  5:26
10. Sasha Anne (Philip Dizack)  5:50
11. I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good (Duke Ellington / Paul Francis Webster)  3:13

Total Time: 56:59
Recorded January 29, 2013 in Brooklyn, NY, USA by Michael Marciano