Criss Cross Jazz 1365 CD

Donald Edwards

Evolution Of An Influenced Mind

Available: February 18, 2014

After six prior engagements for Criss Cross as a sideman, drummer Donald Edwards' first leader offering for the label is a program of ten well-wrought originals that embrace the complex harmonies and rhythms of 21st century jazz while hewing to strong melodic values and abiding soulfulness.

Helping set the mood is an A-list ensemble - pianist (and Criss Cross veteran) Orrin Evans and bassist Eric Revis, with whom Edwards performed on the 2013 Orrin Evans Trio record ...It was Beauty (Criss 1359) as well as tenor saxophonist Walter Smith III (III - Criss 1328) and world-class guitarist David Gilmore.

Donald Edwards
Barcode 8 712474 136520
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. American Drum Call To Mama (Donald Edwards)  2:07
2. History Of The Future (Donald Edwards)  7:17
3. Niecee (Donald Edwards)  4:54
4. The Dream (Donald Edwards)  6:53
5. The Essential Passion (Donald Edwards)  6:51
6. Dock's House (Donald Edwards)  5:16
7. Nightmare Of Fun (Donald Edwards)  5:28
8. When (Orrin Evans)  6:50
9. Culmination For Now (Donald Edwards)  6:56
10. Not Really Gumbo (Donald Edwards)  5:22
11. Truth Or Consequence (Donald Edwards)  5:36

Total Time: 63:55
Recorded October 28, 2013 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Michael Marciano (recording / editing / mixing) & George Fontenette (mixing) & Max Ross (mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens