Criss Cross Jazz 1326 CD

David Hazeltine


Available: May 16, 2010

When it comes to New York’s top-shelf gigs, few pianists get the job done like David Hazeltine. Much sought for his sensitivity as an accompanist, Hazeltine is also an inventive composer and arranger who is able to bring a fresh approach to the mainstream.

For his eighth set as a leader for Criss Cross, the pianist brings his talents to the fore with three originals, including a dedicatory For Cedar. Rounding out the set are a few select standards including a new twist on Dizzy Gillespie’s Tin Tin Deo.

Longtime collaborators Eric Alexander (tenor sax), John Webber (bass), and Joe Farnsworth (drums) mix it up with expert vibist Steve Nelson for a colorful set that puts all of Hazeltine’s wares on full display.

David Hazeltine
Barcode 8 712474 132621
Buy this release on iTunes
Buy this release on Amazon

1. Aki's Blues (Buddy Montgomery)  6:53
2. For Cedar (David Hazeltine)  7:00
3. A Lil' Bit (David Hazeltine)  7:19
4. Inversions (David Hazeltine)  7:18
5. Lover Man (Jimmy Davis / Roger Ramirez / Jimmy Sherman)  8:33
6. Dave's System (Eric Alexander)  7:13
7. Everything I Love (Cole Porter)  10:08
8. Tin Tin Deo (Dizzy Gillespie)  9:43

Total Time: 64:11
Recorded February 5, 2010 in Brooklyn, NY, USA
Engineer: Michael Marciano & Max Bolleman (mixing) & The Masters (mastering)
Producer: Gerry Teekens